The Oahe Chapel sits in a picturesque setting overlooking Lake Oahe four miles north of Pierre on Hwy 1804. (Click here for a map.) Built in 1877, it was moved to its present location in 1964 after construction of the Oahe Dam flooded its original location. The Chapel is maintained by the Oahe Chapel Preservation Society.
The Chapel's interior has been restored as nearly as possible to the way it was in 1907. All of the furnishings, except for the electric keyboard, are original as are the pictures on the wall. Follow the Oahe Chapel Preservation Society on Faebook for any and all chapel related updates and events!